Philadelphia- Mixto

Mixto

Philadelphia, PA 

A few weeks ago I was in Philadelphia visiting my friend. I was only there for less than 24 hours, but we made sure we could drive into the city and grab some lunch. What we ended up going to was a restaurant in the trendy Washington West neighborhood called Mixto.

The restaurant itself is very easy to find, however parking is nearly impossible. My friends I were lucky as we found a parking lot about a black away from the restaurant.

When you get to the restaurant, you’ll be warmly greeted by the hostess. Depending on the time of day you might be seated downstairs. But if you can, see if you can sit upstairs. The atmosphere is extremely relaxed with lots of light. It’s perfect for a relaxing, catch up with a friend.

Their food is a mix of Cuban, Latin American and Caribbean cuisine. You’ll find appetizers, sandwiches, salads and entrees on the menu. To start off, I ordered a Cafe Cubano. I actually had no idea what I ordered when I ordered it, but it was the best decision I’ve ever made. A Cafe Cubano is basically a shot of espresso but it is sweetened with sugar as it is brewed.

IMG_1555

For lunch I chose the Sandwich de Pello. It has grilled chicken, onions, tomato, and lettuce on a Cuban roll. The sandwich was served with fried plantains. What I liked the most about this meal was that for it’s price, the portion size was pretty descent.

IMG_1556

If you’re ever in Philadelphia and are looking for something different to eat, I would highly recommend Mixto.

General Information:

1141 Pine Street

Philadelphia, PA 19107

Hours: 

Mon-Tues 4 p.m.-11 p.m.

Wed-Thurs 11 a.m.- 11 p.m.

Fri 11 a.m.-12 a.m.

Sat 9 a.m. – 12 a.m.

Sun 9 a.m. – 10 p.m.

Leave a Reply

