Welcome!

“I have no special talents. I am only passionately curious.” –Albert Einstein

Ever since I was a little kid I’ve been curious. My mom, who was often irritated of my never ending questions, would silence me with the familiar phrase, “Curiosity killed the cat.” Much to her chagrin, her warning never did stick. School soon pacified my curiosity by quenching, what I realized, was a thirst for knowledge. But it was my curiosity that drove my search for knowledge. Unbeknownst to my parents, they continually fed this monster inside me by taking me on countless trips as a kid. They encouraged me to travel and try new things. I became, what Einstein refers to as being “passionately curious”, towards the world.

Over time the two areas in which I have become passionately curious about are food and travel.

In my family, I am the third of four children. To this day, I’m still in awe of my mother’s success with creating a strong, loving family. Oddly enough, food aided in her success. Looking back on my childhood there were a couple aspects that remained consistent throughout its entirety. First was the fact that every Sunday at 9 a.m. you could find me sitting in one of the first pews at church, even if I felt like I was on the brink of death. Second, was that my Dad came home from work at 6:30 every night, and when he came home my entire family would sit down and have dinner together. It is through this example in which I learned the power of food.

Food has the power to bring people together. My mother used to meticulously create meals that would have us running to the dinner table. Once we were at the dinner table, she knew she had time to talk with us and discuss what we were thinking. Believe me, she didn’t only have success with this strategy at home. Whether it be the annual Spaghetti Dinner at church or the countless parties she was asked to cater, people came because there was good food. That food brought them together.

I am very fortunate to have had the opportunity to travel. By the time I was 2 years old, I had already left the country. My favorite memories are on our family road trips (after all air fare for 6 people = obscene). The list of places I’ve been is extensive and each town, city, or country varies drastically when it comes to culture. Even through these varying locations, my mother still had us sit down for dinner together every night. As a discussion topic, she would ask us what we thought of the food we were eating. She probably didn’t realize it, but she was raising her own army of food critics.

As we became teenagers, it became habit that we would seek out the best local cuisine to try. In a way this habit inspired me to seek out new places and explore their cultures, which according to my mother, included food. It is here where the inspiration of this blog was conceived.

“Trouvaille” is a French word meaning “a lucky find.” As someone who actively seeks out the “lucky finds” of each place I visit, I consider myself a trovaille devotee. Therefore, my goal with this blog is to actively seek out the “lucky finds” I come across in my travels. In addition, I’ll be adding recipes inspired by these destinations as well as my thoughts and experiences in those locations as well.

Please stick around and explore. You can look for updates on the website, twice a week on Mondays and Thursdays. I hope that you find something that will make you “passionately curious”.

Mary Godin xo

Leave a Reply

