Pad Thai

Thai food is interesting.  I’ve only ever had Thai food twice in my life. The first time was with one of my best friends in downtown York. The only reason I went was because she was my best friend and I trusted her not to take me to a place that would give me food poisoning. After I got over the peanuts in everything, I ended up really enjoying the meal. Recently on a trip to National Harbor, Maryland, I had the opportunity to eat Thai food again. To say this Thai food was infinitely superior to my other experiences would be a understatement. I loved it so much that I decided to try making a Thai recipe myself, specifically Pad Thai.

Now to preface the recipe, please allow me to explain what Pad Thai is for those who may not know. Pad Thai is a dish that is served in Thailand consisting of rice noodles, egg, tofu, tamarind puree, fish sauce, shrimp (or whatever meat), garlic/shallots, chives, bean sprouts, cilantro (coriander) and roasted peanuts. Individually these ingredients may seem a bit odd, but when paired the combination is delicious. I will also add that it is very difficult to get all of the ingredients listed above. It is because of this reason that I substituted or omitted some of the ingredients above.

The following recipe is a combination of two blog recipes I found that I then tweaked. The first blog is called Epicurious, while the second blog is I Wash…You Dry.  My recipe uses shrimp as its “meat” instead of chicken. I also was unable to obtain bean sprouts or tamarind sauce. So I substituted the tamarind sauce with a homemade peanut butter sauce from Epicurious.

To get started below is a list of the ingredients that you will need.

Prep & Cook Time: 1 hour

Ingredients

DSC_0660

12 oz. egg noodles (or lo mein or rice)

3 Tbsp. vegetable oil

3 cloves of garlic

1 tsp. ginger root

3 large eggs

1 medium-head of broccoli

1/8 tsp. crushed red pepper

1/4 cup fresh cilantro

1/2 cup roasted peanuts

1 lime, cut into four wedges.

12 oz. shrimp

1 bunch of fresh chives

Sauce

1/2 cup peanut butter

3 Tbsp low sodium soy sauce

6 Tbsp of hot water

Directions

  1. Prep the ingredients that you’ll need ready at the end. Cut up chive, broccoli, cilantro and lime.DSC_0662
  2. Put a kettle to boil for noodles.
  3. De-shell the shrimp and place in a bowl with hot water. Set aside.DSC_0669
  4. In a small, grinder or food processor chop peanuts. Set aside. DSC_0667
  5. In a medium saucepan on low heat, put peanut butter, soy sauce and hot water. Stir occasionally until ready to put on noodles. DSC_0671
  6. In a larges frying pan, put 2 Tbsp of vegetable oil. With the edge of large knife, smash garlic and ginger root and add to pan. After about 2 mins, remove and discard.DSC_0676
  7. Add shrimp to pan and cook on each side for about 2-3 mins or until the shrimp are pink.
  8. When shrimp are done, remove and set aside.
  9. When the pot starts to boil, add noodles and salt. Cook for time on package instructions.
  10. While the noodles are cooking, Add 1 Tbsp of vegetable oil to the same frying pan used for the shrimp. Add broccoli.
  11. In a small bowl, beat three eggs together. Add the egg to the broccoli mixture and mix until egg looks scrambled and broccoli slightly cooked.DSC_0678
  12. Check on sauce. It should look almost like a loose paste.DSC_0674
  13. When noodles are done, drain into a colander. Then place in a bowl.
  14. Take broccoli/egg mixture and pour on top of noodles. Follow with the shrimp and chives.DSC_0679
  15. Pour sauce over ingredients and mix.
  16. When noodles and vegetables are covered, you can spoon it on to plates and garnish with peanuts, cilantro, and wedges of lime.DSC_0681

Enjoy!

Note* This is a very rich meal that is also fairly high in sodium. If you decide to dish our portions, it is best to start off with smaller than normal portions and go back if still hungry.

Leave a Reply

