Baltimore-Trinacria

Italian food is the best. There is no question about it. I’m sure people would argue with me about that, but I’m biased because growing up I was spoiled. I grew on my mother’s Italian cooking, which used recipes and techniques from my grandmother and great-grandmother. My great-grandmother immigrated to the United States from Italy at the beginning of the 20th century. With her she brought recipes from the homeland. It is these recipes that I grew up eating and have aided in me being selective of only “good” Italian food.

My older sister used to live in the heart of Baltimore up until a few months ago. I used to visit her frequently and there was a deli across the street from her apartment hat I always wanted to try. One day we did and the deli has forever cemented itself as one of my favorite restaurants in the country.

DSC_0729

Trinacria is a deli in the Mount Vernon neighborhood of Baltimore, Maryland. The deli offers moderately priced foods as well as deli meats and cheeses, breads, sauces, wine, beer, you name it. Since the first time I tried Trinacria I’ve never been disappointed. The deli is staple in Baltimore having been around since 1908. And I can honestly say, the food is incomparable. I recommend their Panini, specifically the vegetable Panini. It consists of pretty much every vegetable you find in Italian cooking—red peppers, olives, and artichokes.

Vegetable Panini
Vegetable Panini
Eggplant Parmigiana
Eggplant Parmigiana

You might be wondering what Trinacria means. Truth is you probably already know. A trinacria is essentially a triangle. The word trinacrium is often used in reference to the island of Sicily, which is triangular is shape. The Trinacria symbol, which is the same symbol the deli uses as its logo, has the head of Medusa in the middle with three bent legs and three stalks of wheat protruding from the head.

Trinacria

The three legs, represent the Peloro, Passero and Lilibeo capes of Sicily, while the wheat represents the fertile land found on the island. As for Medusa’s head, its usage represents the ancient Roman belief that the goddess Athena protected the island. For those of you that aren’t quite familiar with Greek or Roman mythology, Medusa was a gorgon known for her hair made of snakes. According to myth, those who looked directly into her eyes would turn to stone. The hero Perseus eventually beheaded Medusa and used it as weapon. Later on, he gifted the head to Athena.

If you have the chance to go, you’ll almost always be able to find parking on Park Avenue. If you go after 6 p.m. parking is free. If on the off chance the street is full, there is a parking lot further South on Park (towards the Harbor) that offers a reasonable fare for parking.

Make the trip, it’ll be the best Italian food you’ve had in awhile.

Trinacria

406 N Paca St

Baltimore, MD 21201

Phone: (410) 685.7285

Leave a Reply

